Winner

Just passed the 50,000 word count for my NaNo Novel. This has been a 12,600 word count day. I am pooped and my throat is still sore, but I am a winner. A NaNoWriMo winner.

A week early no less.

Thanks to all of you for all the moral support. It has meant a lot to me.

Oh, about the novel? It’s a first draft, it’s a lot of dreck and I will probably write a few thousand more words this week to wrap up the story a little better than I did tonight. But all that is beside the point, which was to write 50,000 pages of a first draft novel starting November 1, and ending no later than midnight November 30.

7 thoughts on “Winner

  1. Wow, thanks for all the kind words!!

    Last night I was feeling anything but empowered, but that was on account of being sick. Which I still sort of am, but yes it does feel great to have actually accomplished this. I got real brave and even posted an excerpt from my draft under the “Novel Info” tab on my page on the NaNoWriMo website – see http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/259702
    Just remember that stuff is pure unedited first draft, and be kind. 🙂

    Like

  2. I read the first excerpt. Nice folksy feel to the writing and especially the dialogue. Certainly didn’t seem very rough around the edges, and in any case, we all understand unpolished writing at this time of the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

