The Visitor

Last night I took a friend to dinner and a movie – her pick – in honor of her birthday.

She chose The Visitor based on a friend’s recommendation. Unusually for her, she hadn’t read up on it and had no idea what it was about, and neither did I.

It was marvelous. I’ve tried to explain why I think so, but everything I write looks smarmy and pretentious. It’s about what? Oh, just for instance: the human heart, serendipity, love, kindness, fear, brutal injustice, friendship, and music.

See it if you can. In a theater or when the DVD’s released.

I’m about to download me some Fela Kuti tunes and rock the afternoon away.

2 thoughts on “The Visitor

  1. I’ve heard a lot of good things film. Can’t wait to get a chance to see it. Tom McCarthy’s previous movie is really good as well, “The Station Agent”. If you’ve not saw it before I recommend checking it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

