Too cold, too tired

So much for that shopping I said I would do. It’s been a bitterly cold day, so cold it makes me hate to be outdoors even for a minute. And I’ve been so tired from the past few weeks that after I kept my appointment to have my hair done, I pretty much came home and slept the rest of the afternoon.

In the last 5 weeks I’ve dealt with these things, listed in no particular order:

  • Getting an offer, which I accepted, for the sale of my townhouse – with a short time line to closing date
  • Scrambling to find people to do the work to get this condo ready to move into (complete paint job, installing sinks, toilets, light fixtures)
  • Buying all the appliances for the condo
  • Getting a moving company booked for the moving date
  • Deciding which furniture items in the old place would not come to the new place and then getting rid of them (my family really came through for me on this one)
  • Deciding which other things in the old place would not come over here and getting rid of them
  • Buying sinks, faucets, toilets, light fixtures, a ceiling fan, and other things for the condo to be installed by the handyman/contractor I did fortunately find
  • My old dog being put to sleep on January 11, and I’m still grieving
  • Two weeks before closing, during the buyer’s inspection of my townhouse, a bathtub drain failed, flooding the room below with water (and the buyer’s idiot inspector said it was caused by a toilet), meaning I had to rush home from work and get a plumber in to find and repair the problem, then a restoration contractor to dry out the flooded walls and ceiling and subfloor, then after it was dry (3 days later) repair and repaint the walls and ceiling
  • Showing up at work (!!) on a consistent basis (except for the 5 days leave I took during the final week of moving and closing the deal – and the emergency day for the flooding)
  • Car repairs
  • Packing all my stuff into boxes for moving day
  • Keeping previously scheduled doctors’ appointments – good news from the bone density scan, I’m ahead of my class as to healthy bones; bad news from the nerve conduction tests, I do have carpal tunnel syndrome to some degree
  • Closing the sale of my townhouse
  • Clearing out the rest of the junk in the townhouse after the closing and prior to the buyer’s possession deadline
  • Notifying all those companies of change of address, including insurance companies and banks
  • Getting cable TV and internet installed in the condo

I’m not so young anymore. Twenty years ago I might have pulled all that off without a hitch but not these days. I just looked at that list. I need another nap.

One thought on “Too cold, too tired

  1. Sorry about the loss of your dog; that must have been wrenching.

    Congratulations on the sale of your townhouse and the buying and moving into of your new home. Good luck and well wishes on the thousand and one tasks that somehow always crop up when one moves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

